Where to Watch Anime?

The real heart of CAA; discuss specific series, issues, and things related to anime here.

Where to Watch Anime?

Postby ForeverInspired » Thu Jan 02, 2014 4:52 pm

Since I'm fairly new to the industry (about 1 1/2 years), I was wondering if someone here would know more about this question that I have been pondering for a long time. I am not sure if anyone has created a similar topic before - I apologize if there is an existing one that I missed.

I was wondering if it is best to not watch fansubs and to only watch anime that Crunchyroll, Funimation, Hulu, Niconico, Crackle, and Viz host since they seem to be legal sites. I have researched this topic and have seen that it is very controversial. Some say that it's fine to watch on other sites since they have not been licensed while others say it is still wrong. Also, some of the sites that have videos embeded into them do have terms of use that state not to have illegal videos uploaded onto them. Yet, I have been hearing that these sites are not the best as well.

On my own part, I do get frustrated with the limited amount of series (let alone movies... which are very rare) available on the sites that have been approved. I do want to do the right thing though and would appreciate guidance with this problem.

If there are other sites for anime and manga that are good, I would love to learn of them.

Thanks! :)
ForeverInspired

Re: Where to Watch Anime?

Postby skreyola » Thu Jan 02, 2014 7:02 pm

Sites with videos that are not licensed can bring a number of problems. Depending on local law where you are, it may be illegal for you to watch them. Depending on who runs the site, there is a small chance that the videos can carry a malware payload. But all of that aside, if you watch videos that are not licensed, you are depriving the content creator of their rightful profit in the work and may be helping others with no legitimate interest in the IP to profit from the creator's investment.