New sig rules - and how to turn sigs off

Get the scoop on the changes happening here at CAA. You may also suggest changes or additions to the site and provide feedback about the board.

New sig rules - and how to turn sigs off

Postby Straylight » Mon Oct 20, 2003 10:30 am

I've had a chat with Ashley about sigs, and we've decided that you can have them as long as you like (within reason). There is still one rule though, the sig shouldn't be wider than 470 pixels. This is to prevent 800x600 users from having to scroll sideways.

If you are on a slower connection you might find it useful to know that you can turn off sigs. This is done by going into you user control panel, clicking the Options tab, and under the "Thread view options" header unchecking the "Signatures" checkbox.
[align=center]
Image
Banner above created using my avatar generator tool.
You know you want try it.
User avatar
Straylight
 
Posts: 2346
Joined: Mon May 26, 2003 12:00 pm
Location: Manchester, UK

Postby Mithrandir » Mon Oct 20, 2003 10:50 am

Is there an option for simply supressing the graphics in threads? I like to see the taglines (and being able to click on someone's URL. I just don't like scrolling down two screens to pass someone's graphic.
User avatar
Mithrandir
 
Posts: 11069
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2003 12:00 pm
Location: You will be baked. And then there will be cake.

Postby Link Antilles » Mon Oct 20, 2003 11:37 am

Just out of random curiosity: Is there a limit on how megs it can be? So, like we won't kill the server.
Image
User avatar
Link Antilles
 
Posts: 2528
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 4:00 am
Location: South Carolina

Postby Ashley » Mon Oct 20, 2003 11:43 am

Well the sigs aren't choking *our* server...they're only direct links to other servers.
Image
User avatar
Ashley
 
Posts: 7364
Joined: Mon May 26, 2003 10:00 am
Location: Fort Worth, Texas

Postby Mithrandir » Mon Oct 20, 2003 12:59 pm

Yeah. By the way, if the server hosting the sig goes off-line, it may cause time-outs that appear to be the fault of the CAA server.
User avatar
Mithrandir
 
Posts: 11069
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2003 12:00 pm
Location: You will be baked. And then there will be cake.

Postby shooraijin » Mon Oct 20, 2003 1:43 pm

... which is a problem I've noticed from time to time ...
"you're a doctor.... and 27 years.... so...doctor + 27 years = HATORI SOHMA" - RoyalWing, when I was 27
"Al hail the forum editting Shooby! His vibes are law!" - Osaka-chan

I could still be champ, but I'd feel bad taking it away from one of the younger guys. - George Foreman
User avatar
shooraijin
 
Posts: 9716
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2003 12:00 pm
Location: Southern California

Postby Straylight » Mon Oct 20, 2003 1:55 pm

... however this does not affect the bandwidth quota or slow the server down. Not much I can do about that anyway :)

Disabling images is a good idea but a pain to implement. I'm not doing any hacking until the final release of vb3 comes out (ie the "stable" release)
[align=center]
Image
Banner above created using my avatar generator tool.
You know you want try it.
User avatar
Straylight
 
Posts: 2346
Joined: Mon May 26, 2003 12:00 pm
Location: Manchester, UK

Postby Mithrandir » Mon Oct 20, 2003 2:23 pm

Oxymoron: Final Release.


:lol:
User avatar
Mithrandir
 
Posts: 11069
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2003 12:00 pm
Location: You will be baked. And then there will be cake.

Postby Heaven's Cloud » Mon Oct 20, 2003 2:58 pm

What about the height of the image in the sig. Some are really tall, and it takes a lot of scrolling down.
"So it begins" - Theodon, King of Rohan
User avatar
Heaven's Cloud
 
Posts: 563
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2003 5:57 pm
Location: Behind a computer

Postby TheMelodyMaker » Mon Oct 20, 2003 10:23 pm

oldphilosopher wrote:Is there an option for simply supressing the graphics in threads? I like to see the taglines (and being able to click on someone's URL. I just don't like scrolling down two screens to pass someone's graphic.


It's easy enough to do in Internet Explorer; just go to the Advanced tab in the Properties dialog to disable the Multimedia items "Show pictures", "Show image download placeholders", and "Play animations in web pages". Then, if you want to see an individual picture/animation, just right-click it and choose "Show picture".

I don't know how this works with other browsers, though.
[color=RoyalBlue]@)}~`,~ [/color]Carry this rose in your signature as thanks to Inkhana, for all she has done for us in the past.Even though she is no longer a moderator, she has done an awful lot for us while she was and she deserves thanks. ^_^
TheMelodyMaker
 
Posts: 1904
Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2003 10:13 pm

Postby JediSonic » Tue Oct 21, 2003 4:40 am

<fantasizing>
Hmm, I wonder if you could make it so that only large images can be blocked...
</fantasizing>

This morning when I went to the forum, the page was WAAYY too wide, but then I reloaded and it worked fine! Weird..
User avatar
JediSonic
 
Posts: 1359
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2003 12:33 pm
Location: The Bible Belt :D

Postby shooraijin » Tue Oct 21, 2003 8:35 am

It works fine in Mozilla-based browsers, it's just tedious to keep switching the settings back and forth for CAA and everywhere else. :P
"you're a doctor.... and 27 years.... so...doctor + 27 years = HATORI SOHMA" - RoyalWing, when I was 27
"Al hail the forum editting Shooby! His vibes are law!" - Osaka-chan

I could still be champ, but I'd feel bad taking it away from one of the younger guys. - George Foreman
User avatar
shooraijin
 
Posts: 9716
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2003 12:00 pm
Location: Southern California

Postby Mithrandir » Thu Oct 23, 2003 10:43 am

TheMelodyMaker wrote:...go to the Advanced tab in the Properties dialog to disable the Multimedia items "Show pictures", "Show image download placeholders", and "Play animations in web pages".


Um, unless you have all the images you want displayed cached, I'm not sure this is something I would want to do. That will disable displaying all the graphical buttons, too. Not to mention avitars, which I find much easier to catch at a glance than a name...
User avatar
Mithrandir
 
Posts: 11069
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2003 12:00 pm
Location: You will be baked. And then there will be cake.

Postby Kisa » Fri Mar 26, 2004 2:50 pm

Ummm, why does my sig show sometimes and other times it doesnt?
*sniff* my poor sig . . .
Romans 12:2
User avatar
Kisa
 
Posts: 2927
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2003 10:00 am
Location: where the snow always falls and manga abounds.....

Postby inkhana » Fri Mar 26, 2004 3:00 pm

One of the new mods SL installed only allows your sig to show once per thread. This makes it easier for the page to load, I assume...:)


BOOSTER: Hey, No.1! Where's my cake?!
SNIFIT 1: Booster, Sir! There's a 70% chance the object you're standing on is a cake.
BOOSTER: What? THIS thing's a cake?

You have the power to say anything you want, so why not say something positive?
- Frank Capra

(in response to an interview question "Do you have a pet peeve having to do with this biz?")
People who write below their abilities in order to crank out tons of books and make a buck. Especially Christian authors who do that. Outsiders judge us for it, and make fun of us for it, and it makes Jesus look bad. We of all artists on earth should be the most concerned with doing our best possible work at all times. We of all people should write with all our hearts, as if writing for the Lord and not for men.
- Athol Dickson


Avatar by scarlethibiscus from LJ.
User avatar
inkhana
 
Posts: 3670
Joined: Fri May 30, 2003 10:00 am
Location: meh.

Postby inkjet1987 » Fri Mar 26, 2004 3:07 pm

[inkhana] One of the new mods SL installed only allows your sig to show once per thread. This makes it easier for the page to load, I assume... [/inkhana]


That's a good idea, but it should be on the last post not the first! Or at least that's my opinion.
User avatar
inkjet1987
 
Posts: 1030
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2003 9:00 am
Location: California

Postby Kisa » Fri Mar 26, 2004 3:32 pm

Yea I agree inkjet! Its good that it will load faster, but it should be shown on the latest post you made. ^_^
Romans 12:2
User avatar
Kisa
 
Posts: 2927
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2003 10:00 am
Location: where the snow always falls and manga abounds.....

Postby Kisa » Fri Mar 26, 2004 6:09 pm

Arrrg! Now it is not showing half my sig! *sniff* This stinks . . . Someone help!

edit: NVM, figured it out, lol, sorry for the trouble! :sweat:
Romans 12:2
User avatar
Kisa
 
Posts: 2927
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2003 10:00 am
Location: where the snow always falls and manga abounds.....

Postby _Sin_ » Fri Jan 21, 2005 4:15 pm

inkhana wrote:One of the new mods SL installed only allows your sig to show once per thread. This makes it easier for the page to load, I assume...:)


I'm pretty sure that this is not the case here. The moment you view a sig you have it in your cache, thus every time the sig get's displayed you get it from the cache and not from the site, thus the bandwith is 0 for every other sig display after first.

I got another suggestion for signature rules:

Introduce a maximum file size. Another Forum I post on has limited the image size to 50KB of the signature (all images combined).
Introduce a maximum width x height rule, i.e. 500x200 and unlimited signature uses per thread.

And since you will gain a speed up with these rules, how about increasing the avatar size to 100x100 with a maximum size of 50KB?

EDIT: People who use the FireFox Browser can adblock specific images if they want (I started to do that since it's annoying to see a one-liner post with 6 signature images below it >_<) if they have the valuable Adblock Plugin installed (Download) by right clicking and selecting Adblock Image.
User avatar
_Sin_
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2005 1:11 pm


Return to Announcements and Feedback

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests