character question

Unleash your creative writing skills here.

character question

Postby rocklobster » Sun Apr 18, 2010 2:03 pm

I thought up a character who seems destined to be considered a Mary Sue. She's admired by most of the cast and seems to be very nice. Is there a way to pull this off without going into Mary Sue territory?
"Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, and before you were born I consecrated you. I appointed you to be a prophet of all nations."
--Jeremiah 1:5
Hit me up on social media!
https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100007205508246<--Facebook

I'm also on Amino as Radical Edward, and on Reddit as Rocklobster as well.

click here for my playlist!
my last fm profile!
rocklobster

Postby Esoteric » Sun Apr 18, 2010 2:48 pm

Well, she could turn out to be a hypocrite or a real jerk. I'm no expert here, but find a way to flaw her character, or don't make her the main character.
Esoteric

Postby Ante Bellum » Sun Apr 18, 2010 2:57 pm

http://www.springhole.net/quizzes/marysue.htm

And if you can, give her some negative qualities that the rest don't find cute or adorable.
Ante Bellum

Postby Davidizer13 » Sun Apr 18, 2010 2:58 pm

Give the character a reason to be liked: one defining characteristic of Sueishness is that everyone in the story likes a character just because he/she exists. Just because everyone likes someone does not automatically make them a Sue; however, if, for example, the villain drops his plans and decides that he was wrong just because the villain met your character, then that's when to rethink the state of that character.
We are loved even though we suck.

Psalms 37:37 (NHEB)
Mark the perfect man, and see the upright, for there is a future for the man of peace.
Davidizer13

Postby OfficerSting » Sun Apr 18, 2010 3:05 pm