Can musical talent come in the form of a spiritual gift?

The purpose of the forum is to allow people to post spiritual questions for which they would like answers from their fellow board members.

Can musical talent come in the form of a spiritual gift?

Postby Never thirsty! » Sun Jan 19, 2014 1:47 pm

I have been told by many people when I sing I sound like Ryan Clark with a little less range I've also been told if my classmates and church friends didn't know me they'd think I was the guitarist for August Burns Red and who doesn't like their instrumental music? This talent wasn't natural I had to develop this but I've only been playing guitar for six months but I've been singing for about three years.
Never thirsty!

Re: Can musical talent come in the form of a spiritual gift?

Postby K. Ayato » Sun Jan 19, 2014 2:35 pm

Talents and spiritual gifts are not necessarily one and the same. Read Romans 12, Ephesians 3, and 1 Corinthians 12 to get a clearer idea of what spiritual gifts are. Now, can you channel your talents into a spiritual gift you may have? Yes, I believe so. For example, I love cooking and one of the spiritual gifts I have is in teaching. One thing I would like to do is teach the younger ladies in church how to cook, and maybe throw in some Bible lesson or application in the mix.
K. Ayato

Postby SierraLea » Sun Jan 19, 2014 11:44 pm

Well, there are talents and then there are Charisms.
Talents are gifts that God gives you to enjoy. You love painting, or you're a really good soccer player.
Charisms are gifts you're given at your Baptism that God gives you to further Him kingdom. My mom, for example, has a writing one where letters and emails she writes have miraculous timing, or say just the right thing, and she knows it's not her, but God speaking through her. She's an authority on the subject.